Next Master Plan Live: On Freelance Editing!

Future Episode Announcement | ,

Folks, this coming Saturday — August 2nd, 2014 — at 1pm Pacific/4pm Eastern/9pm UK, I’m going to do a live episode with two editing powerhouses:

  • Lynne Hardy: editor for Modiphius Entertainment, as well as for Cubicle 7 and Chivalry & Sorcery products (from the UK)
  • John Adamus: editor for Evil Hat Productions, various indie publishers for both RPGs and fiction (from the US)
  • Perhaps there will be a third guest! The future is an uncharted country.

We’re going to talk about what it means to be a freelance editor, mainly talking to new and prospective freelance editors out there, but also to writers who are wondering what freelance editors have to deal with. We’ll occasionally talk to the writer point-of-view at times, I’m sure, but we’re looking to focus on talking to new editors — they don’t get nearly as much focus as writers.

As always on Master Plan live, this will be a Hangout on the Air, a subsequent YouTube video, and an audio release later that day.

Are you need to freelance editing? Are you thinking about taking that plunge? Have you been doing it for a bit, and found questions you didn’t expect to ask? Help us fill an hour of air by writing in with your questions!

The Hangout is scheduled at: plus.google.com/u/0/events/c18qu6fntushsdc0uesrphan60o

– Ryan

Share

One Comment

  1. Tim Shiflet says:

    I have been considering getting into freelance editing. I have some limited experience in copy editing for ads and other fields. I am wondering what is distinctive about editing for RPGs as compared to other fields. Specifically, what influence (if any) does the editor have on game mechanics, setting, etc. Or does the editor stick to looking for consistency, grammar, and spelling mistakes?